Durham County RFU 

The Durham County Rugby Football Union was formed in 1876 and has been growing, supporting and developing the game of rugby in its area since.

You can check out a little bit about our rugby history, on the Hartlepool History, Then and Now. 

In 2017, DCRFU became an incorporated company and as a result formed a Board of Directors to head the business.

Your Board of Directors are:

John Denham
Robin Wannop
Robin Wannop
David Thompson
Tony Howe
David Jackson
David Sawyer

Durham County RFU supports 32 rugby clubs that are in membership as well as a Schools’ Union that works to develop rugby within our affiliated school and, our referee society.

In order to adequately manage the work involved in growing rugby union in Durham County, we have the below committees in place.

Community Rugby Committee

Representative Rugby Committee 

Governance Rugby Committee

Skip to toolbar